Brexit Question Time: Davis, Salmond and Clegg on panel


Broadcaster David Dimbleby

Image caption

David Dimbleby will chair Monday’s debate

Brexit Secretary David Davis and other leading politicians will be questioned by the public later in a special live edition of the BBC’s Question Time.

The Britain after Brexit debate will be broadcast on BBC One from 20:30 BST.

Former Scottish first minister Alex Salmond and ex-Lib Dem leader Nick Clegg will also be on the six-strong panel, as will Labour’s Keir Starmer.

The event in Birmingham comes two days before Theresa May informs the EU of the UK’s intention to leave.

Monday’s ninety minute special edition of Question Time, to be hosted by David Dimbleby, will focus on the upcoming negotiations and the prospects for Britain outside the EU.

Former UKIP deputy chairwoman Suzanne Evans and Melanie Phillips, a columnist on The Times and social commentator, will also be on the panel.

On Wednesday, the prime minister will send a letter to the president of the European Council telling him officially that the UK wants to leave.

Triggering what is known as the Article 50, the letter will set in motion a two-year process in which the terms of the UK’s departure from the EU will be hammered out, as will the outline of the UK’s future relationship with the remaining 27 EU members.

As things stands, the UK is set to leave the EU on 29 March 2019 although this deadline could be extended if both sides agree.

More than 33.5 million people voted in a referendum last June on the UK’s future in the EU. They voted to leave by a margin of 51.9% to 48.1%.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *